Skip to content

Bike Summit Preview

March 7, 2009
tags: ,

I’ll be heading off to the bike summit later today; unfortunately I have to miss the opening events. Brayj Against the Machine has already posted a video from the bike-related events of a couple days ago. Unfortunately there is no footage of Damien Newton, who reportedly rolled up in a Hello Kitty bike. Hopefully it’ll be there today and I’ll have full coverage.

The out-of-towners were generally positive about the event, and even the bike situation here in Los Angeles. Noah Budnick of Transportation Alternatives New York talked about how effective bikes were in improving communities, though he was careful not to “proselytize”. Elly Blue from Portland detailed her earlier ride down Sunset to Flower in Downtown: “It was thrilling, sometimes a little too thrilling.” She was also very optimistic about the future of bikes in LA: “Someday, LA might even be a better bike city than Portland.” Now, I’m something of a bike optimist, but even I have to admit that’s stetting the bar a bit high. Nevertheless, it’s still technically possible.

Bike Summit looks like it’ll be rad, and I’ll have my full report when I get back.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 7:31 am

    I am going to kill Josef…it was just a bell! He keeps besmirching my bike…so sad…

  2. Drew permalink*
    March 9, 2009 9:12 am

    Lol. Good thing I only wrote that you “reportedly” rolled up in a Hello Kitty bike. Gotta hold on to that journalistic integrity!

Leave a Reply

